II - Jesus Carries His Cross - View 2 II - Jesus Carries His Cross - View 3Edition of 12  

Price: $12,210

Artist: Dennis Smith

Stations of the Cross


“Then delivered they him therefore unto them to be crucified.  And they took Jesus, and led him away.  And he, bearing his cross went forth into a place called the place of a skull, which is called in the Hebrew Golgotha.”  (John 19:16-17)


“Stations of the Cross” or “Way of Sorrows” refers to a series of locations along the route of Christ’s final passage, from his appearance before Pilate in Jerusalem to the site of his crucifixion at Calvary.  Instituted through tradition within the Catholic Church the various locations of significance are defined and illustrated with artistic representations, usually sculpture or paintings.  These are located along the interior of most churches to serve as “stations” of prayer and meditation on Christ’s journey of ultimate sacrifice.


Posted on

April 24, 2014